Happy Haynes - Denver Park Trust

2024 Park Champion – Allegra “Happy” Haynes

Denver native Allegra “Happy” Haynes retired in October 2023 after serving for eight years as Executive Director of Denver Parks and Recreation. Happy was elected at-large to the Denver Public Schools Board of Education in 2011 and served two terms. She was the first African American woman elected to serve on the Denver City Council where she served from 1990 – 2003, including two years as president.

2023 Park Champion – Kendra Black

Born and raised in southeast Denver, Kendra Black represented District 4 on Denver’s City Council from 2015-2023. She serves on the board of directors of a number of organizations including the High Line Canal Conservancy, Denver South TMA, and Transportation Solutions. She is the co-founder of the Denver Park Trust and currently serves on its board of directors.

Lauri Dannemiller 1961 – 2022

Lauri Dannemiller had a successful nearly 30-year career in Colorado government and parks and recreation. Most recently, she was Executive Director of the Apex Park and Recreation District in Arvada. She previously held positions as the Executive Director of Denver City Council, the Executive Director of Denver Parks and Recreation, as well as prior positions in Poncha Springs, Lakewood, and Englewood.

This site built with love by New Why